The Presidency

The Presidency is comprised of a President and two Vice-Presidents and works at the mandate of the Plenary Assembly for a renewable five-year term of office.

Members of the Presidency can be contacted directly through the CCEE Secretariat.

The current members of the Presidency (elected in 2016) are:

His Eminence Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco, Archbishop of Genoa
His Eminence Cardinal Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster
His Grace Mgr Stanisław Gądecki, Archbishop of Poznań

Former Presidents of CCEE:

  • His Eminence Cardinal Roger Etchegaray (France, 1971-1979)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Basil Hume (England & Wales, 1979-1986)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Carlo Maria Martini (Italy, 1986-1993)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Miloslav Vlk (Czech Republic, 1993-2001)
  • His Lordship Mgr Amédée Grab (Switzerland, 2001–2006)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Péter Erdő (Hungary, elected in 2006-2016, reelected in 2011)