The President and the Vice-Presidents are elected during the CCEE Plenary Assembly by the Presidents of the Bishops' Conferences for a renewable five-year term.

Members of the Presidency can be contacted directly through the CCEE Secretariat.

The current Presidency (elected in 2016) is composed of:


Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco


Cardinal Vincent Nichols


Archbishop Stanisław Gądecki

List of former CCEE Presidents:

  • His Eminence Cardinal Roger Etchegaray (France, 1971-1979)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Basil Hume (England & Wales, 1979-1986)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Carlo Maria Martini (Italy, 1986-1993)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Miloslav Vlk (Czech Republic, 1993-2001)
  • His Lordship Mgr Amédée Grab (Switzerland, 2001–2006)
  • His Eminence Cardinal Péter Erdő (Hungary, 2006-2016)