The Holy Synod of the Catholic Hierarchy of Greece

The Holy Synod of the Catholic Hierarchy of Greece is a permanent institution founded by the Holy See on the 10th of June 1965. Its members are the bishops of Greece who jointly exercise certain pastoral functions for the Christian faithful of their territory in order to promote the greater good which the Church offers to humanity, especially through forms and programs of the apostolate fittingly adapted to the circumstances of time and place, according to the norm of law.

To help it fulfil its aims more effectively, the Holy Synod of the Catholic Hierarchy of Greece has established various Episcopal Commissions, departments, councils, and other bodies which focus on specific tasks and areas of responsibility within the mission of the Church. Day to day operations are overseen by a secretariat.

The National Committees of the Holy Synod of the Catholic Hierarchy of Greece are :

  • National committee for the Evangelization and the Catechism
  • National Committee for the Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments
  • National Committee for the Pastoral care of the Youth and the Vocations
  • National Committee for the Family and the Protection of Life
  • National Committee Justice and Peace
  • National Committee for the Pastoral Care of Migrants, Itinerant People and tourists
  • National Committee for the Ecclesiastical Relations and Theological Dialogue

H.E. Msgr Pétros Stefánou, Bishop of Syros and Santorini


H.E. Msgr. Joseph Printezis, Archbishop of Naxos, Andros, Tinos and Mykonos


Katholiki Episkopi
Odós Homírou 9
GR-10672 Athens
Tel: +30 210 362 43 11
Fax: +30 210 361 86 32

E-mail :