Fr Martin Michalíček, New Secretary General of CCEE

Poznań, Poland, 14 September 2018

Fr Martin Michalíček is the new GeneralSecretary  of the Council of European Bishops’ Conferences (CCEE). Late in the morning the Presidents of Europe’s Bishops’ Conferences, gathered Poznań (13-16) for their annual Plenary Assembly (13-16 September), elected him for a five-year term (with immediate effect). Fr Martin Michalíček succeeds Duarte da Cunha, who concluded a second five-year term. The CCEE President, Cardinal Angelo Bagnasco, Archbishop of Genoa, along with the Vice-presidents, Cardinal Vincent Nichols, Archbishop of Westminster, his Grace Mgr Stanisław Gądecki, Archbishop of Poznań, and the Presidents of Europe’s Bishops’ Conferences, thanked Fr Duarte da Cunha for his dedication to leading the CCEE Secretariat and Fr Martin Michalíček for his readiness to serve the Church in Europe.

Fr Martin Michalíček (born on 18 August 1974) was ordained priest for the Diocese of Nitra (Slovak Republic) in 1999. The same year, he completed his studies of Philosophy and Theology at the Comenius University in Nitra; he also studied at the University of Salzburg from 1993 to 1995.
In 2005, he gained a Licentiate in Cathechetical Studies at the Salesian Pontifical University of Rome and a Doctorate in Cathechetical Studies at Comenius University in Bratislava (2008).
From 2007-2017 he taught at the Diocesan Seminary of Nitra (Slovak Republic); during 2008-2017 he was Director of the Diocesan Cathechetical Office of Nitra (Slovak Republic) and since 2015 he is Moderator of the Bishop Curia of Nitra (Slovak Republic).
Since January 2018 he is serving as Vice-Secretary General at CCEE.
He speaks German, Italian, English and Slovak (mother tongue).

CCEE Secretaries General:
Rev. Alois Sustar (Slovenia, 1971-1977) – subsequently Archbishop of Ljubjana.
Rev. Ivo Fürer (Switzerland, 1977-1995) – subsequently Bishop of St. Gallen.
Mgr Aldo Giordano (Italy, 1995-2008) – at the moment Apostolic Nuncio in Venezuela.
Mgr Duarte Nuno Queiroz de Barros da Cunha (Portugal, elected in 2008).
Rev. Martin Michalíček (Slovakia, 2018-)